Strange Encounter - Hurt for days (I am new to this)

To post a reply, login or signup

GardenTiger
@gardentiger
5 months ago
4 posts

Hi all,

I am very new to this whole topic of being an Empath but I have to say after reading about it, it felt like a real eye-opener, and I believe I might be an Empath.

One question that was not answered anywhere online for me (or in Elise's book which I read in one sitting on Sunday :) ) is, can it be that some negative feelings I get from a person last within me for multiple days or even a week etc.? I had an encounter with an old friend of mine on Friday, which I haven't seen in years, we talked we touched and eventually we briefly kissed. I left rather abruptly because I did not feel comfortable with the situation for some reason, I think he was angry then which may play into the problem I have now. 

I know that he has serious issues at the moment, he was just dumped by his girlfriend of many years for another man and was obviously in pain. The strange thing is, that I felt really really bad the next day (when the Alcohol was out of my system I guess!) I felt real heartache and it felt like I was going through a break up myself (which I'm not!) I felt such heartache and pain and did not know why, until it dawned on me that those might be HIS feelings and not mine at all! I found this website and tried the technique of turning down his and other peoples volume - instant relief! But I feel that it's coming back in waves here and there so now I'm struggling with this since almost a week. Is this 'normal' that these aches can last for such a long time? Also, does it mean he is feeling that at this moment in time, or does he think about me and hence extending his pain to me at that moment, or did he more like 'dump' these feelings on me at that point when we met and merrily went his way leaving me to deal with what he left me? I'm trying to understand how this works exactly, also to prepare myself for future encounters like this.