Holiday groups

To post a reply, login or signup

Gin S
@gin-s
4 years ago
225 posts

Well Christmas is coming yet again. The holidays, where everyone related to you pushes and pushes for you to come visit but every gathering is full of people. Being in a room full of family that don't all get along is worse then a group of strangers. I pick on on things from everyone and it all gets jumbled together but with a family that doesn't get alongI see alot of chatting and smiles butI feel the current of animosity coming from more then one person. When it is the same emotion from multiple people I get a big dose all at once, horrid feeling. I love buying presents for everyone but I cannot stand all the get togethers, they make me dread the holidays. My inability to block or cope with it always leads to a bad christmas and some sort of outburst from me because I just can't take all the feelings flooding into me. I am not good at putting on a mask like so many do, my face shows exactly what I am feeling most of the time so everyone knows. I pick up so much from being hsp and empath at the same time that some christmases are just unbearable.

I was wondering how others might handle this?I am trying to get shielding to work but no luck so far especially in that sort of situation. I need some coping strategies.

updated by @gin-s: 05/14/17 09:23:25AM
Dice
@dice
4 years ago
284 posts

It might be time to revisit the Empath Survival Guide.. a form of volume control you havent tried yet?

Dice
@dice
4 years ago
284 posts

Forget the mask.. it doesn't work well for me either..

Gin S
@gin-s
4 years ago
225 posts

Ah, good idea. I hadn't thought to try that yet. Thank you.

Gin S
@gin-s
4 years ago
225 posts