How does it feel 'from the other side'? - Dumping Emotions on me

To post a reply, login or signup

GardenTiger
@gardentiger
3 weeks ago
13 posts

Hi all,

Trying to keep this short :) I am relatively new to this, I only found out I’m an Empath few months back, after opening my first topic in this forum and after reading ‘thriving as an Empath’ and Elise’s book, which were both very helpful. I get better at this step by step I hope, but now I find myself wondering, how empathy is perceived (if at all) from the other side of the spectrum so to say.

I took on very strong emotions from a good friend of mine again recently, and I had a very hard time to shake them off (it took me a few days, almost a week! – feeling miserable all the way through) this person is a new friend I ‘found’ a few months back and we get along very well, safe to say we clicked from the start and have a very special connection and I believe it is not a coincidence that we met at this exact time in my life, which is quite difficult for me as I feel adrift and stuck in a rut since a few months – but I’m working on resolving this.

He is a free spirit, no attachments, an artist that does whatever he feels like and abuses drugs – I know his lifestyle, which I kind of envy, is showing me what is currently missing in my life and should be lived and brought to the surface by me again (especially being creative and free, but not the drugs of course, I don’t use drugs except Alcohol) that’s probably why we clicked so well.