Empaths and Their Concept of Work

To post a reply, login or signup

Jenstone
@jenstone
last year
72 posts

Does anyone else struggle with the concept of work in the traditional employment sense?

I do not mind putting forth effort, getting up early, producing positive results within given paradigms, but the idea that people give away most of their daily lives to a single location or single objective---others telling them how to be and how to act and where to be and where to act just seems so CRAZY to me.... and I am having trouble accepting this.

I am 45 so it seems a little odd that I've arrived at this now, but I am supposed to be job hunting and what I really feel compelled to do is write fiction. In my former position I was in a management position, supervised staff, oversaw budgets. I'm a lawyer. I can't be one anymore! I can't contain or process the energies that come from the people in my cases, so I just want to make coffee for peope or sandwiches, something light and helpful, but how do people live on these wages, and were we meant for this? Ughghg. 

updated by @jenstone: 02/26/17 08:55:03PM
Cat Whisperer
@cat-whisperer
last year
726 posts

I can sooo relate to this! I had been a public accountant for 25 years and this past tax season I just couldn't do it anymore. The influx of negative energy from clients, coworkers, etc was too much. Yes, I made a nice living but there has to be more to life than being a puppet on the string of society. So I quit. Now trying to decide what would pay the bills and agree with my soul. Luckily I am helping my husband with the farm so I'm able to pay my bills with that but what I am drawn to do doesn't seem to be a paid position in my area, so now I am just volunteering. 

Jenstone
@jenstone
last year
72 posts