Sick a lot?

To post a reply, login or signup

Sarah
@sarah
2 years ago
386 posts

I'm home sick from work right now. I feel a little discouraged about it. I've been feeling under the weather for about a week now, and I missed another day of work last week because of it. The thing is, I really think it's less about having a virus or whatever, but more about being an empath and the sensitivity that goes with it.

About three and a half weeks ago, I changed jobs. I am a writer from home for my main job, but I need a day job to help with the bills. I was only working out of the house 12-16 hours a week until a few weeks ago. I loved my very part time job, but another position opened at the school where I worked that I knew would be a good fit for me, more hours and more money, so I took it. Since then, I've been a wreck. I've had anxiety like crazy. I've had super deep depression. I've had several sicknesses and can't seem to shake them all the way, and when I'm not at work, I'm having to rest excessively. I haven't had the mental or emotional energy to write either. The thing is, the job is about 30 hours a week--so not even really full time. It's flexible in that I can do some of it from home. The commute is only a mile and a half. It's at a school I love with co workers I love and kids I love. This is not a case of having the wrong job and my spirit protesting. This is something else entirely. It's like my body and soul are so sensitive, that this change has rocked it to the core and I can't cope. I even started seeing a therapist because I was alarmed how hard this transition was for me. Yes, I have had other big life shifts during this new on the job time, too, but my body seems to be reacting out of proportion.